to the congregations of God

Members discussing and researching current issues facing the congregations of God today

UCG Council of Elders member Jorge de Campos sent this response to this article.

Are the UCG dates of the crucifixion proof of the Jewish calendar?

The UCG paper Summary of the Hebrew Calendar1 argues that the dates from the Jewish calendar in the years 30 CE and 31 CE are proof that the Jewish calendar was in use during the time of Jesus' crucifixion. But, almost half of these dates are wrong, most importantly, the year 31 CE, the year at the crux of the paper's argument. Here are the claims that the years 30 CE and 31 CE are the only years that work for a Saturday Tabernacles and a Wednesday Passover.

Only the year 30 C.E. satisfies both needs as the year for Christ’s observance of His final Feast of Tabernacles.
Summary of the Hebrew Calendar, Page 16
We have provided a chart [the appendix]2 to go along with this paper, which will show the results of such a search.
Summary of the Hebrew Calendar, Page 16
Only the year 30 C.E. will satisfy all these parameters. This places the crucifixion of Christ in 31 C.E.—the next Passover after this Feast of Tabernacles. In order to arrive at a Wednesday date for Passover in 31...
Summary of the Hebrew Calendar, Page 17

According the Jewish calendar, Passover (Nissan 14) in 31 CE was not on a Wednesday. Since Jesus had to have been crucified on a Wednesday, he could not have been crucified in 31 CE. Therefore the arguments in the paper are not valid proof that Jesus supported the Jewish calendar.

Below is a table comparing the data from the UCG appendix with 5 different sources. Additionally, the site congregationsofgod.org provides all the required math, step-by-step to calculate the dates of the Jewish calendar by hand, so every step of the math and logic used can be verified.

All of these sources agree on the dates for the years 26 CE to 34 CE for both Trumpets (Tishri 1) and Passover (Nissan 14).

The Comparison Sources used in the following table.

  1. Kalendis http://www.individual.utoronto.ca/kalendis/kalendis.htm
    Dr. Irv Bromberg, University of Toronto

  2. TimeAndDate.com http://www.timeanddate.com/calendar/
    Use Israel as location and Large Format (More Options > Advanced > Format > Large) to see Jewish calendar dates.

  3. Harvard Math Department http://www.math.harvard.edu/computing/javascript/Calendar/

  4. HebCal http://www.hebcal.com/converter/ (Gregorian dates only)

  5. CongregationsofGod.org http://congregationsofgod.org/math_of_the_jewish_calendar (Gregorian dates only)

Table comparing the dates represented in the UCG appendix with the Comparison Sources.

Year

Event

UCG Appendix3

Comparison Sources

Comparison Sources

Gregorian dates

26

Passover

Trumpets

Friday, April 19*

Monday, September 30

Friday, March 22

Monday, September 2

March 20

August, 31

27

Passover

Trumpets

Wednesday, April 9

Saturday, September 20

Wednesday, April 9

Saturday, September 20

April 7

September 18

28

Passover

Trumpets

Monday, April 26*

Thursday, October 7

March 29

Thursday, September 9

March 27

September 7

29

Passover

Trumpets

Saturday, April 16

Tuesday, September 27

Saturday, April 16

Tuesday, September 27

April 14

September 25

30

Passover

Trumpets

Wednesday, April 5

Saturday, September 16

Wednesday, April 5

Saturday, September 16

April 3

September 14

31

Passover

Trumpets

Wednesday, April 25*

Saturday, October 6

Monday, March 26

Thursday, September 6

March 24

September 4

32

Passover

Trumpets

Monday, April 14

Thursday, September 25

Monday, April 14

September 25

April 12

September 23

33

Passover

Trumpets

Friday, April 3

Monday, September 14

Friday, April 3

September 14

April 1

September 12

34

Passover

Trumpets

Wednesday, April 21*

Saturday, October 2

Monday, March 22

Monday, September 2

March 20

August 31

[* These dates are different in the UCG appendix than in the Jewish calendar]

All dates are assumed to be Julian unless otherwise noted.

All dates for Passover are for Nissan 14 in the Jewish calendar.
Nissan 14 was on a Wednesday in the years 3,10,17,20,23,24,27,30,37,44,47 and 50 CE in the Jewish calendar. But not on years 31 CE or 34 CE.

2UCG Appendix to the paper Summary of the Hebrew Calendar.
http://streaming.ucg.org/files/papers/ucg-paper-hebrew-calendar-appendix.pdf

3UCG Appendix to the paper Summary of the Hebrew Calendar.
http://streaming.ucg.org/files/papers/ucg-paper-hebrew-calendar-appendix.pdf